April 25, 2008

What makes grace so amazing???

Posted in Christian life, Gospel, Reformed Theology, Sin at 2:25 pm by Dan Lowe

What makes grace so amazing?

Dr. Sinclair Ferguson once wrote, “… grace makes sense to us only in light of the sin to which it provides remedy.  Consequently, only those made sensitive to sin, its greatness, misery and danger, will grasp clearly the wonder of God’s salvation.  Grace is only ‘amazing’ when we see that it is a ‘wretch like me’ that it saves” (Sinclair Ferguson, excerpted from “The Compromised Church”, edited by John Armstrong, page 273.)

“Amazing grace!

How sweet the sound

That saved a wretch like me!

I once was lost, but now am found;

Was blind, but now I see.” (John Newton, “Amazing Grace.”)

When was the last time you truly pondered the sinfulness of your own sin?  It is only as we remember our wretchedness that we begin to grasp the amazing grace and love of God in Christ Jesus.

“And can it be that I should gain

An interest in the Savior’s blood!

Died He for me who caused His pain!

For me who Him to death pursued?

Amazing love! How can it be,

That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?” (Charles Wesley, “And Can It Be.”)

How can we meditate on our own sinfulness?  Here are a couple of suggestions:

1)      Examine yourself in light of the Ten Commandments (Exodus 20.)  Don’t make excuses for yourself.  Remember and admit your sin… both to yourself and before God.

2)      Examine yourself in light of the Beatitudes (Matt 5:3-10.)  Ask yourself, “Am I poor in spirit?  Do I mourn over sin?  Am I gentle?  Do I hunger and thirst for righteousness?”  You get the idea.  Walk through the Beatitudes and examine yourself in light of what Jesus says makes a person “blessed.”

Take some time in the days ahead to reflect on your own sinfulness… but don’t stop there.  Remember that, if you are a Christian, then all the sins you have ever committed and all the sins you ever will commit were paid for by Jesus Christ.  Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures…” (I Cor 15:3.)  He suffered and died because of my sins… and yours.  Remember the gospel… and rejoice!!!

Remember Dr. Ferguson’s words cited at the beginning of this post, “… grace makes sense to us only in light of the sin to which it provides remedy.  Consequently, only those made sensitive to sin, its greatness, misery and danger, will grasp clearly the wonder of God’s salvation.  Grace is only ‘amazing’ when we see that it is a ‘wretch like me’ that it saves” (Sinclair Ferguson, excerpted from “The Compromised Church”, edited by John Armstrong, page 273.)

Remember your sin… and rejoice in God’s amazing grace!

Leave a Reply

